The Connecticut General Assembly

REAPPORTIONMENT COMMITTEE

SENATE

Senator Donald E. Williams, Jr., Co-Chair

Senator John McKinney Senator Martin M. Looney Senator Leonard A. Fasano

Sandra Norman-Eady, Project Coordinator

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: CONTACT: KRISTEN MILLER

HOUSE

Representative Lawrence F. Cafero, Jr., Co-Chair

Representative Christopher G. Donovan Representative Sandy H. Nafis Representative Arthur J. O'Neill

> JUNE 13, 2011 (860) 240-1441

Bipartisan Redistricting Committee to Hold Public Hearings in each congressional district

Norwalk, Waterbury, Norwich, New Haven, and Hartford to host hearings, beginning June 30th

HARTFORD-- The General Assembly's Reapportionment Committee will hold five public hearings on redistricting, one in each of the state's congressional districts. The five hearings are as listed:

- o Norwalk City Hall, 125 East Avenue (June 30)
- Waterbury City Hall, 235 Grand Street (July 5)
- Norwich City Hall, 100 Broadway (July 6)
- o Fair Haven Middle School, New Haven, 164 Grand Avenue (July 19)
- o Legislative Office Building, Hartford, 300 Capitol Avenue (July 20)

The committee seeks public comment before it begins to redraw congressional and state senate and house district boundaries. The four hearings away from the Capitol begin at 7:00 p.m. and sign-up for public comment begins at 6:30 p.m. In Hartford, there will be two sessions, one beginning at 2:00 p.m. and one beginning at 7:00 p.m. Sign-up begins at 1:30 p.m. and 6:30 p.m., respectively.

The Reapportionment Committee is required by federal and state laws to redraw district boundaries every ten years. Federal law requires districts to have about equal populations so that everyone's vote has equal importance ("One person, one vote"). The districts must be consistent with federal and state constitutional standards.

The 2011 committee members are: Senate President Pro Tempore Donald Williams (Co-chair, D-Brooklyn), House Minority Leader Lawrence Cafero (Co-chair, R-Norwalk), Senator Majority Leader Martin Looney (D-New Haven), Senate Minority Leader John McKinney (R-Fairfield), Senator Leonard Fasano (R-North Haven), House Speaker Christopher Donovan (D-Meriden), Representative Sandy Nafis (D-Newington), and Representative Arthur O'Neill (R-Southbury). The committee website is <u>www.cga.ct.gov/red2011/</u>.

-30-

